Give-Aways Reviews

Wordsearch Junior Review & Give-Away

We have been having fun with another Drumond Park game here. This time, it’s Wordsearch Junior, and I think I love it as much as Boo does…

Wordsearch Junior montage LRWordsearch Junior

For children who are learning their letters – Wordsearch Junior is a brilliant introduction to spotting patterns of pictures and simple words.

Wordsearch Junior leads children from searching out rows of animals or fruits in a grid of pictures to looking for short words linked to pictures like CAT, DOG or BED. It gets younger children used to the whole idea of searching for rows in a grid, and gives new readers valuable practice at recognising words.

The player with the most coloured markers on the board when all the words have been found is the winner.

Contents: 1 Wordsearch board, 9 double-sided game discs (18 games), 4 x 35 marking pieces (red, yellow, green, blue), instructions.

So to kick off, you have three different types of game boards to play with..

Wordsearch Junior boards

We play with all three. Boo’s favourite level is the middle one, the red game boards. It’s a good one, as it has the images of the word that you’re trying to find at the start, followed by spelling it out, which she enjoys doing. I personally, find the images, the blue boards, fun to play with, as I like spotting the little patterns as fast as I can as it makes Boo mad at me!

Once you’ve selected which game board you’re going to play, you pop it on the turntable and cover it with the plastic grid. You’re all set to go then, so just choose your disc colour and get playing!

Wordsearch Junior

There’s a gap in the blue of the turntable that shows you what you need to be searching for..

photo 1 (55)

And once found, be it pattern or word, you cover it with your discs..

photo 2 (53)

It’s a race to find each sequence, and then you place your discs over the word. The winner is the person with most words found at the end of the board cycle, or the one to run out of discs – whichever comes first.

photo 3 (47)

This is a fabulous game on so many levels. Boo likes spotting patterns and it helps her to concentrate on doing so. She recognises her letters now, and this builds on that and encourages her to read and spell, which she has been enjoying working on recently anyway. We have discussed each letter as we play, talk through spelling and word pronunciations. She really focuses on this game, and I enjoy watching her do so.

Wordsearch Junior Concentration

It’s nice to have a game that we can play quietly and calmly while Little Man is asleep (note – if you do have younger children, you will want them asleep, as those counters can get everywhere pretty quickly, a lesson I learned early on with this one!). It’s turning into our little bit of one on one time every few days, and I think we both love it equally. At 4, Boo is the perfect age to start enjoying this game, and I can see it being a favourite for a fair few years to come yet, and then she’ll be ready to move on to Wordsearch, which I’m keen to play, too, as I spent many happy childhood hours immersed in wordsearches!

I’ve struggled to find anything that I don’t like about this game, so this is definitely a game I’d recommend for young children. It is fun, educational, easy to play and understand, well-made, and with several discs to use, all double-sided, it has many hours of potential to sit, ponder, giggle when you’re beaten, and learn. We give it a bigΒ thumbs-up here.

The lovely people at Drumond Park have offered me 1 copy of the game to give away, too, so to be in with a chance, use the rafflecopter below. Give-away ends 30th June 2014, open to UK residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure: I was given the product FOC for the purposes of writing this review, but all words and opinions remain my own.

Follow on Bloglovin

Family Fever

180 Comments

  1. Melanie McNair June 3, 2014
  2. brummymummyof2 June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  3. Tracy Nixon June 3, 2014
  4. Amanda Walsh June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  5. Kim Carberry June 3, 2014
  6. chantelle hazelden June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  7. iain June 3, 2014
  8. jenny June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  9. fashion-mommy June 3, 2014
  10. Cheryl Kean June 3, 2014
  11. Jo Laybourn June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  12. Ashleigh Allan June 3, 2014
  13. kim neville June 3, 2014
  14. Pippa Ainsworth June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  15. kim plant June 3, 2014
  16. winnie June 3, 2014
  17. Camille June 3, 2014
  18. elaine dale June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  19. ann clements June 3, 2014
  20. Kathy Cakebread June 3, 2014
  21. Paula Barker June 3, 2014
  22. John Taggart June 3, 2014
  23. KATHY D June 3, 2014
  24. Donna June 3, 2014
  25. Family Fever June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  26. Susan Sargent June 3, 2014
  27. tracey bowden June 3, 2014
  28. Claire D June 3, 2014
  29. olga carpenter June 3, 2014
  30. Sarah Spencer June 3, 2014
  31. Angel June 3, 2014
  32. Mummy Bear June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 3, 2014
  33. laura stewart June 3, 2014
  34. Miss Tracy Hanson June 3, 2014
  35. Mrs Pauline Wood June 3, 2014
  36. Julie Ward June 3, 2014
  37. bloggermummylauren June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 4, 2014
  38. claire woods June 3, 2014
  39. Gina Caro June 3, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 4, 2014
  40. Diane Jackson June 3, 2014
  41. Caroline Blaza June 3, 2014
  42. jemmer sams June 3, 2014
  43. Di Coke June 4, 2014
  44. Richard Randall June 4, 2014
  45. Pam Hubbard June 4, 2014
  46. mrstuteyblog June 4, 2014
  47. michelle dootson June 4, 2014
  48. Jill June 4, 2014
  49. cathy cockburn June 4, 2014
  50. Catherine McAlinden June 4, 2014
  51. Victoria Iwan June 4, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 4, 2014
  52. Lucy Mayer June 4, 2014
  53. sarah rees June 4, 2014
  54. Spencer Broadley June 4, 2014
  55. Hazel Christopher June 4, 2014
  56. Anna June 4, 2014
  57. Harley June 4, 2014
  58. jodie harvey June 4, 2014
  59. clair dutton June 5, 2014
  60. Katherine GG June 5, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 5, 2014
  61. kid GL loves June 5, 2014
    • Jocelyn June 5, 2014
  62. emma falvi June 5, 2014
  63. Laura Pritchard June 5, 2014
  64. LESLEY RENSHAW June 5, 2014
  65. Jo Hutchinson June 6, 2014
  66. KATHARINE BOURNE-FRANCIS June 6, 2014
  67. becca staples June 6, 2014
  68. Hannah Ingham June 9, 2014
  69. tazzy keen June 10, 2014
  70. claire matthews-curtis June 11, 2014
  71. michelle banks June 11, 2014
  72. john hannigan June 12, 2014
  73. Michelle Ferguson June 13, 2014
  74. richard hill June 14, 2014
  75. lynn Heath June 15, 2014
  76. Janice Mackin June 15, 2014
  77. Julie Henderson June 15, 2014
  78. Amy Ripley June 15, 2014
  79. Zoe G June 15, 2014
  80. Jo Jones June 15, 2014
  81. ray June 15, 2014
  82. Hutch2 June 15, 2014
  83. Ms Suan Watts June 15, 2014
  84. adeinne tonner June 15, 2014
  85. Rachel McMillan June 15, 2014
  86. jamie banks June 15, 2014
  87. Stephanie Tsang June 15, 2014
  88. Sarah Prightingale June 15, 2014
  89. sam swain June 15, 2014
  90. julie laing June 15, 2014
  91. Susan H June 15, 2014
  92. Susan Joyce Rogers June 16, 2014
  93. Allan Smith June 16, 2014
  94. vicki hennie June 16, 2014
  95. abigail edkins June 16, 2014
  96. Denise C June 16, 2014
  97. Mickie Bull June 16, 2014
  98. Rich Tyler June 16, 2014
  99. kris June 17, 2014
  100. joanna butler-savage June 17, 2014
  101. Colin Gault June 17, 2014
  102. Tracy Newton June 18, 2014
  103. Holly S June 18, 2014
  104. IZZY June 18, 2014
  105. Kay panayi June 20, 2014
  106. Tammy Tudor June 20, 2014
  107. Karen Louise wright June 21, 2014
  108. kelly brittle June 21, 2014
  109. Melody Williams June 21, 2014
  110. Alexandra Blue June 21, 2014
  111. Cheryl Pearson June 21, 2014
  112. Jade June 22, 2014
  113. barbara clarke June 23, 2014
  114. angela sandhu June 23, 2014
  115. Barbara Handley June 24, 2014
  116. Emma Clements June 24, 2014
  117. Kayleigh Main June 24, 2014
  118. Katrina Coombs June 24, 2014
  119. Kerry Locke June 24, 2014
  120. sarah stevens June 24, 2014
  121. Joanne Welsh June 25, 2014
  122. Simon G June 25, 2014
  123. katrina walsh June 25, 2014
  124. Rachel white June 26, 2014
  125. Samantha Atherton June 26, 2014
  126. Rebecca Gransden June 26, 2014
  127. Sarah Rees June 26, 2014
  128. Clint Howat June 26, 2014
  129. LEAH SULLIVAN June 26, 2014
  130. Christine Caple June 26, 2014
  131. leanne williams June 27, 2014
  132. Diana June 27, 2014
  133. Kirsten Barthy June 27, 2014
  134. Christine E Andrews June 28, 2014
  135. Mark Rayner June 28, 2014
  136. Kirsty Sparks June 28, 2014
  137. Emily Carter-Dunn June 28, 2014
  138. Amy Beckett June 28, 2014
  139. Amanda Milton June 28, 2014
  140. Kelly Hooper June 28, 2014
  141. sarah palmer June 28, 2014
  142. JAMES Holyland June 28, 2014
  143. Patricia Avery June 28, 2014
  144. Jane Middleton June 28, 2014
  145. RACHAEL JONES June 28, 2014
  146. Joanna Sawka June 28, 2014
  147. Clare S June 29, 2014
  148. joanne liddement June 29, 2014
  149. Stephen Little June 29, 2014
  150. olivia Kirby June 29, 2014
  151. Patrick Moran June 29, 2014
  152. Natalie White June 29, 2014
  153. Kelly Webb June 29, 2014
  154. Lisa Valentine June 29, 2014
  155. GEORGE WILLIAMSON June 29, 2014
  156. Natalie Crossan June 29, 2014
  157. Holly Boyd June 29, 2014
  158. zoe wood June 29, 2014
  159. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs June 29, 2014

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Instagram