Books & Reading Give-Aways Reviews

Sticker Dressing Wartime Fashion Review & Giveaway

When Usborne Publishing got in touch with me recently, about the launch of a new sticker dolly dressing book, I jumped at the chance to review it. We already have several of these sticker books here, as Boo will often choose them when we pop into book shops. I’m always happy for her to do so as the quality of these never disappoints me, and this new Wartime Fashion book lives up to my expectations…

wartime fashion sticker book

Historical Sticker Dolly Dressing: Wartime fashion

– A fascinating look at the distinctive β€œmake do and mend” fashions that developed out of necessity during the Second World War.
– Children can use the stickers to dress characters including an air raid warden, a land girl and French citizens living under German occupation.
– Each page includes informative notes, photographs and sketches explaining the clothes and adding historical context.
– With over 170 stickers of clothes to wear during an air raid, on duty or to attend a 1940s wedding.
– Includes internet links to recommended websites to find out more about life in the Second World War.

Boo was excited when this one arrived! Lately, with her new found reading talent, she’s been voraciously reading anything she can get her hands on, and so I was interested to see that she grabbed this and began to read it. Previously with her other books like this, it’s been all about flicking straight to the stickers and getting going on them, so this adds a great new dimension and means we’re getting so much more out of the book. Of course, the stickers are then the main draw…

wartime fashion sticker book 1

wartime fashion sticker book 2

The pages are nice and thick and the stickers not at all flimsy. The pages with the stickers on have a perforated edge so you can easily pull out the part you need, which is clearly labelled with the page that it corresponds to.

It’s had us chatting about the war, and what it would have been like back then.Β I’ve always loved history, and I’m really hoping to spark a similar interest in Boo. I think books like this, keeping it interactive and fun, whilst being informative, are brilliant at doing this. This book gets a thumbs up here, and we’ll no doubt continue to look out for new titles and add them to our shelves.

Wartime Fashion will be available to buy next month.

I also have one copy of this to give-away to one of my lucky readers, too – hooray! So to be in with a chance of winning it, enter using the rafflecopter below. Giveaway closes at midnight 11th March 2015 Β and is open to UK residents only. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Which period of history most interests you?

Disclosure: We received a copy FOC for the purposes of this review, though all words and opinions remain my own.

The Reading Residence

89 Comments

  1. Ashleigh Allan February 16, 2015
  2. Tracy Nixon February 16, 2015
  3. Steve Weaver February 16, 2015
  4. iain maciver February 16, 2015
  5. Keith Hunt February 16, 2015
  6. elaine dale February 16, 2015
  7. Sharon Griffin February 16, 2015
  8. Catherine February 16, 2015
  9. Stuart Collins February 16, 2015
  10. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs February 16, 2015
  11. Harriet February 16, 2015
  12. kim neville February 16, 2015
  13. Julie D February 16, 2015
  14. kim plant February 16, 2015
  15. Sandra Lane February 16, 2015
  16. tina holmes February 16, 2015
  17. karen Howden February 16, 2015
  18. Jessica Powell February 16, 2015
  19. Monica Gilbert February 16, 2015
  20. Lynsey Buchanan February 16, 2015
  21. Eva Appleby February 16, 2015
  22. Matthew Sinclair February 16, 2015
  23. Kelly glen February 17, 2015
  24. claire blaney February 17, 2015
  25. Zoe G February 17, 2015
  26. Caroline H February 17, 2015
  27. LUCY BISHOP February 17, 2015
  28. laura stewart February 17, 2015
  29. winnie February 17, 2015
  30. Amanda Hart February 17, 2015
  31. Hannah Pollard February 17, 2015
  32. aaron broad February 17, 2015
  33. Karen Knox February 17, 2015
  34. Corinne Peat February 17, 2015
  35. Rachael G February 17, 2015
  36. Jo m welsh February 18, 2015
  37. Lisa C February 18, 2015
  38. abigail edkins February 18, 2015
  39. Joanna Silvester February 18, 2015
  40. Carol Cameleon February 18, 2015
  41. Rich Tyler February 19, 2015
  42. Fiona February 19, 2015
  43. Kelly L February 19, 2015
  44. Kristy Brown February 21, 2015
  45. Louise Perry Fairweather February 22, 2015
  46. Anne Plumb February 22, 2015
  47. Lindsay Seels February 22, 2015
  48. Penny Jenkins February 23, 2015
  49. cathyj February 23, 2015
  50. caroline February 24, 2015
  51. Lesley Bradley February 24, 2015
  52. Christine Lockley February 27, 2015
  53. katie skeoch February 28, 2015
  54. Karen Barrett March 2, 2015
  55. Hekna March 3, 2015
  56. Spencer Broadley March 4, 2015
  57. Michelle Banks March 6, 2015
  58. Amy Rennocks March 6, 2015
  59. Harley March 6, 2015
  60. sarah stevens March 8, 2015
  61. barbra March 8, 2015
  62. Celia West March 9, 2015
  63. pamela gossage March 9, 2015
  64. ELZBIETA ZNYK March 9, 2015
  65. Kim Styles March 9, 2015
  66. leanne weir March 9, 2015
  67. Claire D March 9, 2015
  68. katie w March 9, 2015
  69. Victoria B March 9, 2015
  70. Clare S March 10, 2015
  71. Wendy Guy March 10, 2015
  72. Wendy Becker March 10, 2015
  73. Kate Cass March 10, 2015
  74. Kayleigh March 10, 2015
  75. Andrew Hindley March 10, 2015
  76. jamie March 10, 2015
  77. Lucy carter March 10, 2015
  78. Kerry Lethbridge March 10, 2015
  79. Sarah Parker March 10, 2015
  80. Graham Ashworth March 10, 2015
  81. sarah March 10, 2015
  82. Heather Simpson March 10, 2015
  83. Karen R March 10, 2015
  84. Barbara Handley March 10, 2015
  85. Francesca Tuck March 10, 2015
  86. Amanda Gibson March 10, 2015
  87. Diana March 10, 2015
  88. Natalie Crossan March 10, 2015
  89. Ellie Spider March 10, 2015

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Instagram