Give-Aways Reviews Toy Reviews

Electronic Dictionary Bookmark Review & Giveaway

Christmas is fast approaching so I have no doubt that like me, your thoughts are turning to kids gifts ideas. My two seem to go from wanting every single item that they see on the TV to then not being able to think of anything that they want when asked! So today I’m offering up an idea that is that little bit different, a fun and educational idea, and I also have one up for grabs…

electronic-dictionaries-in-books

We have received Electronic Dictionary Bookmarks from BrightMinds, one for each of the children to try out. Now I have to say first up that I was a little unsure of these. You know how I am quite old-school about paper and books, and I do encourage Boo to use her dictionary as I think it is important to know how to use one. I know, I know, Google exists, as I say, I am old-school that way. But I have been pleasantly surprised by these, so let me give you a little background.

electronic-dictionaries

Electronic Oxford Childrens Dictionary Bookmark

An easy-to-use ‘at hand’ electronic dictionary enabling quick look-up and understanding of the words children encounter every day. The design is beautiful, with slim fit for use on the page and a window so words can be isolated as you read. 30,000 word definitions taken from the best-selling Oxford Primary Dictionary.

For age 7+, batteries supplied. Measures 15cm. RRP Β£29.99

Electronic Dictionary Bookmark White

There will be no need to ask next time you read a word you don’t understand. The Electronic Dictionary Bookmark can be used to keep your place in the conventional way, but also offers 38,000 definitions from The Collins English Dictionary at your fingertips. Although this does not act as a spelling corrector, it is a great gadget for children and adults to enrich their reading experience.

For age 8+, easy to use, battery included. Measures 17 x 4.5cm RRP Β£24.99

electronic-dictionary

These are so simple to use, and though they do both come with clear instruction booklets, Boo picked up hers and started using it straightaway without any need for me to explain how it works. So if a 7 year old can do that, it’s fair to say they are nice and easy to get used to.

As you can see, this one is laid out alphabetically and you just turn it on with that pink button, type in the word that you would like it to look up and then scroll down to read the full definition.

It works perfectly as a bookmark as it lies flat, with just the display part popping out at the top of the book, marking your place for you.

electronic-dictionary-bookmark

Little Man’s design is slightly different, though functions in the same way.

electronic-childrens-dictionary

As you can see from the photos, both dictionaries are designed to work as bookmarks by lying flat inside the books with the top part peeping out.

What’s been interesting and unexpected is just how much the kids have taken to these. They are so proud of them and have shown them to pretty much every visitor we’ve had to the house in the last couple of weeks! Boo uses hers every night now, as she reads to herself before going to sleep so this is now her bookmark of choice and she tells me each morning what she looked up the evening before. Little Man cannot yet read, so I see this as being great for him once he begins. In the meantime, he uses his as his bookmark, as an imaginary phone and he absolutely loves writing his name on the keyboard which can only be a good thing. His dictionary bookmark is in the style of a QWERTY keyboard so he is also becoming familiar with this layout and asking me lots of questions about the letters so his alphabet recognition is improving.

I have been impressed with these. They do a good job as a dictionary, are perfect as bookmarks and the children both enjoy using them and playing with them, too. I can ask no more!

Competition Time!

I now have the Electronic Oxford Childrens Dictionary Bookmark up for grabs. To be in with a chance of winning it, enter using the rafflecopter below. The competition is open to UK entrants only and closes at 12am 24th November 2016. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What appeals to you about these?

Disclosure: We received the product FOC though all words and opinions remain my own

188 Comments

  1. Natalie November 3, 2016
  2. Tracy K Nixon November 3, 2016
  3. Mommy's Little Princesses November 3, 2016
  4. emma walters November 3, 2016
  5. Tee simpson November 3, 2016
  6. laura banks November 3, 2016
  7. iain maciver November 3, 2016
  8. Carolynn Woodland November 3, 2016
  9. Tony Metcalfe November 3, 2016
  10. kate November 3, 2016
  11. Corinne Henson November 3, 2016
  12. S Edwards November 3, 2016
  13. caroline walliss November 3, 2016
  14. kerry November 3, 2016
  15. abigail edkins November 3, 2016
  16. Aaron Broad November 3, 2016
  17. kim plant November 3, 2016
  18. Jen Schofield November 3, 2016
  19. rebecca pawsey November 3, 2016
  20. Kim Neville November 3, 2016
  21. Alison Macdonald November 3, 2016
  22. Lynn Heath November 3, 2016
  23. KATHY D November 3, 2016
  24. Joseph Dawson November 3, 2016
  25. Henry Little November 3, 2016
  26. Matt McAndrew November 3, 2016
  27. Wendy Becker November 3, 2016
  28. Simon Tutthill November 3, 2016
  29. Paul Halling November 3, 2016
  30. Lucy B November 3, 2016
  31. Catherine McAlinden November 3, 2016
  32. Zoe C November 3, 2016
  33. Karen Barrett November 3, 2016
  34. Rachel Smethurst Newport November 3, 2016
  35. Claire Nutman November 3, 2016
  36. Jennifer Wlodyka November 3, 2016
  37. fozia Akhtar November 3, 2016
  38. Anthony Harrington November 3, 2016
  39. KARL BOROWY November 3, 2016
  40. Jennifer Toal November 3, 2016
  41. aj November 3, 2016
  42. Kristy Brown November 3, 2016
  43. Farhana November 3, 2016
  44. Tracy Newton November 3, 2016
  45. Leanne Lunn November 3, 2016
  46. Laura Linsey November 3, 2016
  47. Sharon H November 3, 2016
  48. Jo Carroll November 4, 2016
  49. Ruth Harwood November 4, 2016
  50. Jackie Elston November 4, 2016
  51. Lucy November 4, 2016
  52. Joanna Coleshill November 4, 2016
  53. Nigel Rummey November 4, 2016
  54. Maggie Ali November 4, 2016
  55. Beky Austerberry November 4, 2016
  56. Solange November 4, 2016
  57. Kelly Ellen Hirst November 5, 2016
  58. Sophie Ade November 5, 2016
  59. Bethanie Fairbairn November 5, 2016
  60. leanne weir November 5, 2016
  61. Kim Styles November 5, 2016
  62. Jo Glasspool November 5, 2016
  63. claire woods November 6, 2016
  64. Ann Grisdale November 6, 2016
  65. hannah Igoe November 6, 2016
  66. JULIE WARD November 6, 2016
  67. cheryl hadfield November 6, 2016
  68. Joanne Robinson November 6, 2016
  69. Leila Benhamida November 7, 2016
  70. esme mccrubb November 8, 2016
  71. Rebecca Lis November 8, 2016
  72. Elizabeth Doody November 8, 2016
  73. Harriet November 9, 2016
  74. Matt Froggatt November 9, 2016
  75. emilia nastaly-howard November 9, 2016
  76. Shirley Evans November 9, 2016
  77. Melissa Crowe November 9, 2016
  78. Kate Davies November 9, 2016
  79. michelle o'neill November 10, 2016
  80. claire griffiths November 10, 2016
  81. Corinne Peat November 10, 2016
  82. Margaret GALLAGHER November 11, 2016
  83. jemma dwyer November 11, 2016
  84. MANDY DOHERTY November 11, 2016
  85. Laura Pritchard November 13, 2016
  86. Laura Nice November 13, 2016
  87. Angie McDonald November 13, 2016
  88. Sam GOodwin November 14, 2016
  89. michelle speight November 14, 2016
  90. Shelley Jessup November 16, 2016
  91. Eileen Tingle November 17, 2016
  92. Laura November 17, 2016
  93. janine atkin November 17, 2016
  94. Carly Belsey November 18, 2016
  95. Susan Smith November 18, 2016
  96. greig spencer November 19, 2016
  97. Richell Lever November 19, 2016
  98. Sarah Rees November 20, 2016
  99. Cheryl Kemp November 20, 2016
  100. bella bazley November 20, 2016
  101. Sarah Norgrove November 20, 2016
  102. Nancy Bradford November 20, 2016
  103. Caroline Blaza November 20, 2016
  104. Hayley Colburn November 21, 2016
  105. Layla Thomas November 21, 2016
  106. paula cheadle November 21, 2016
  107. KIMBERLEY RYAN November 21, 2016
  108. Ema J Lowe November 21, 2016
  109. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog) November 21, 2016
  110. Heather Simpson November 21, 2016
  111. Rebecca Smith November 21, 2016
  112. Louise Fairweather November 21, 2016
  113. Kyomi Johnson November 21, 2016
  114. Monika Bascombe November 21, 2016
  115. Sarah Wilson November 21, 2016
  116. Lynsey Buchanan November 21, 2016
  117. Lisa feldman November 21, 2016
  118. Jo McPherson November 22, 2016
  119. Monica Gilbert November 22, 2016
  120. Vicki Violet Morris November 22, 2016
  121. Lisa Wilkinson November 22, 2016
  122. steph lovatt November 22, 2016
  123. Deborah Bird November 22, 2016
  124. Lorraine STONE November 22, 2016
  125. lauren cooke November 22, 2016
  126. Holly Edmundson November 22, 2016
  127. Mark Bascombe November 22, 2016
  128. Keith Hunt November 22, 2016
  129. Ella Swinbank November 22, 2016
  130. jessica catherine November 22, 2016
  131. Stuart Dunlop November 22, 2016
  132. Sheri Darby November 22, 2016
  133. Mark Johnson November 22, 2016
  134. claire little November 22, 2016
  135. Emma November 22, 2016
  136. Matt O'Reilly November 22, 2016
  137. Jennie November 22, 2016
  138. AnnaH November 22, 2016
  139. Patricia Avery November 22, 2016
  140. katie w November 22, 2016
  141. Dawn Hull November 22, 2016
  142. Jamie C Millard November 22, 2016
  143. Dale Dow November 22, 2016
  144. Kat F November 22, 2016
  145. Sam Parkes November 22, 2016
  146. Marie Rule November 22, 2016
  147. Joanna Kasznicki November 22, 2016
  148. Tamsin Dean November 22, 2016
  149. Rich Tyler November 23, 2016
  150. Jane Middleton November 23, 2016
  151. Liz Wilford November 23, 2016
  152. David Paull-Wills November 23, 2016
  153. Sarah Parker November 23, 2016
  154. Hayley Todd November 23, 2016
  155. Lilly Anne Shayn November 23, 2016
  156. Diana November 23, 2016
  157. Miss Tracy Hanson November 23, 2016
  158. Maria Jane Knight November 23, 2016
  159. rachael mccadden November 23, 2016
  160. Rebecca mercer November 23, 2016
  161. Rachel Butterworth November 23, 2016
  162. LEE HARDY November 23, 2016
  163. sharon martin November 23, 2016
  164. Angela Kelly November 23, 2016
  165. Andrea A November 23, 2016
  166. Emma choonage November 23, 2016
  167. viv carey November 23, 2016
  168. donna l jones November 23, 2016
  169. Joanna Ford November 23, 2016
  170. natalie crossan November 23, 2016
  171. jodie a harvey November 23, 2016
  172. Enola Stevenson November 23, 2016
  173. Joanne Austin November 23, 2016
  174. lauren porter November 23, 2016
  175. Sharon Burroughs November 23, 2016
  176. Gemma Cook November 23, 2016
  177. Hannah November 23, 2016
  178. Fleur November 23, 2016
  179. Susan Freeman November 23, 2016
  180. danielle bassford November 23, 2016
  181. Victoria Prince November 23, 2016
  182. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi) November 23, 2016
  183. Cal at Family Makes November 23, 2016
  184. Julie Barrett November 23, 2016
  185. Leanne Bell November 23, 2016
  186. Colin Gault November 23, 2016
  187. Sarah Rowland November 23, 2016
  188. Adrian Bold November 23, 2016

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Instagram