Give-Aways Reviews Toy Reviews

Disney Rummy Review & Competition

We have been playing a new game, Disney Rummy, so today I’ll share our thoughts on it with a review, along with offering one of you the chance to win a copy…

disney rummy

Play with Buzz, Woody, Lightning McQueen, Remy, Nemo and all their friends! Disney Rummy contains two ways to play! The “Discovery” game helps children learn the basics whilst the “Family” game gives you all the fun of classic rummy! Make a run of numbers of the same colour, or a set of the same number but different colours! Watch out: when it’s your turn, if you cannot place a tile you’ll have to take another one out of the bag! First to get rid of all their tiles is the winner!

RRP Β£17.99

Also available from your friendly local game shop.

The contents were simple to unpack and make sense of, with 52 tiles divided into 4 different colours, much like a pack of cards. There are then 4 racks and instructions on the two modes of play.

Disney Rummy Contents

There are 2 ways to play Disney Rummy, an easier ‘Discovery’ option, or the more difficult ‘Family’ game. The box suggests the game is for players aged 4 and up, so the Discovery option is aimed at younger children.

Discovery game

disney rummy discovery

To play this, all of the tiles are placed facing downwards in the centre of the table. Each player then takes it in turn to select two tiles. If the tiles are the same character or areΒ the same colour, they can be classed as a pair and kept. The game ends when there are only 4 tiles left in the centre, and the winner is the player with most tiles.

The three of us played this version, and I’d say it took 5-10 minutes to play, from set up to declaring a winner.

Family game

disney rummy families

For this game, each player takes 6 tiles and places them in their rack. From then on, it is played using rummy rules, with players trying to form runs or families with their tiles. The winner is the first player to get all of their tiles out.

This one definitely requires more understanding and concentration, though it was fine for our 6 year old. I’d say this one takes no more than ten minutes, too. I love speedy games!

The Verdict

We like our Disney films here, so any games featuring Disney characters go down well. The children like spotting them as they’re familiar to them, and the tiles are all nice and brightly coloured.

My 3 year old found the ‘Discovery’ version of the game easy to grasp and play. It’s a good one for us all to enjoy together and takes seconds to set up, which is always a plus when playing games with little ones. The tiles are all easy to hold in small hands, and as they are tiles and not cards, they can’t get bent or torn. Again, hard-wearing is a plus with little ones! During play, I was mixing up the tiles so that it didn’t become a game of memory, it was more a game of chance. This was because my six year old had spotted that you can win it as a game of memory, whereas my three year old hadn’t worked that out and I wanted to give him a fighting chance! When he’s a little older, we will play it using the memory element as I think that’s another fun dimension.

My six year old and I played the ‘Family’ game, along with the Husband. The instructions on this one aren’t that clear, though with talk of runs and families, it works very similarly to normal rummy, though with 6 tiles, so we played using those rules. My daughter enjoyed it, and it is a fun introduction to more traditional card games.

As far as game play is concerned, these can both be played with a deck of cards. But I found that by bringing the Disney characters into the game, the children were far more interested, and the tiles are definitely more child-friendly than playing cards. These are easy to play games, and I do like the versatility of having two playing options for different age ranges within one game.

Competition
I now have a Disney Rummy up for grabs. To be in with a chance of winning it, enter using the rafflecopter below. The competition is open to UK entrants only and closes at 12am 15th August 2016. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What appeals to you about this game?

Disclosure: We received the game FOC for the purposes of this post, and the post contains affiliate links

169 Comments

  1. emma walters July 12, 2016
  2. Tracy K Nixon July 12, 2016
  3. Heidi July 12, 2016
  4. Jamie Edwards July 12, 2016
  5. Anthony Harrington July 12, 2016
  6. iain maciver July 12, 2016
  7. kim neville July 12, 2016
  8. Hannah Scudder July 12, 2016
  9. laura stewart July 12, 2016
  10. Lauren Tourle July 12, 2016
  11. charlotte July 12, 2016
  12. Dawn Brodribb July 12, 2016
  13. Nicola Marshall July 12, 2016
  14. Tony Metcalf July 12, 2016
  15. Amy Lambert July 12, 2016
  16. Tee simpson July 12, 2016
  17. Sue McCarthy July 12, 2016
  18. Susan Smith July 12, 2016
  19. Samantha O'D July 12, 2016
  20. ElizM July 12, 2016
  21. laura banks July 12, 2016
  22. Michelle Ferguson July 12, 2016
  23. jessica woods July 12, 2016
  24. Rachel Craig July 12, 2016
  25. Natalie Crossan July 12, 2016
  26. Lynn Heath July 13, 2016
  27. Samantha Wheeler July 13, 2016
  28. Rachael Jess July 13, 2016
  29. Lara Latchem July 13, 2016
  30. Sarah Lambert July 13, 2016
  31. Kristy Brown July 13, 2016
  32. Sally Collingwood July 13, 2016
  33. Kelly M July 13, 2016
  34. Simon tutthill July 13, 2016
  35. Ben Audsley July 13, 2016
  36. Heidi Craske July 13, 2016
  37. john jackson July 13, 2016
  38. Jodie Holyoake July 13, 2016
  39. Mariel Pereira July 13, 2016
  40. Rachael Lines July 13, 2016
  41. alison fisher July 13, 2016
  42. Jen Schofield July 13, 2016
  43. kate CARRINGTON July 13, 2016
  44. Tammy Tudor July 13, 2016
  45. Sarah Pearce July 13, 2016
  46. Michael Rose July 13, 2016
  47. HannahP July 13, 2016
  48. Matthew P July 13, 2016
  49. Paul Halling July 13, 2016
  50. Abigail Aris July 13, 2016
  51. Angela July 13, 2016
  52. Charlotte Arnott July 13, 2016
  53. Kerry Kilmister July 13, 2016
  54. Sarah Mackay July 13, 2016
  55. Elizabeth Hinds July 13, 2016
  56. Angela McDonald July 13, 2016
  57. Victoria N July 13, 2016
  58. Cathryn johnson July 13, 2016
  59. samantha price July 13, 2016
  60. Jamie Millard July 13, 2016
  61. Rebecca Phillips July 13, 2016
  62. Caroline Bourne July 14, 2016
  63. Jo Carroll July 14, 2016
  64. Karen Cole July 14, 2016
  65. Chelsey Hollings July 14, 2016
  66. Kirsten Barthy July 14, 2016
  67. Kim Styles July 15, 2016
  68. Lucy Jones July 15, 2016
  69. Solange July 16, 2016
  70. Maxine Owen July 16, 2016
  71. Corinne Peat July 17, 2016
  72. Emma Ellams July 17, 2016
  73. Beky Austerberry July 17, 2016
  74. Kay Panayi July 17, 2016
  75. Caroline H July 18, 2016
  76. Rachel Butterworth July 18, 2016
  77. Chrissie Curtis July 19, 2016
  78. Kirsty Hosty July 19, 2016
  79. Patricia Avery July 19, 2016
  80. jen s morgan July 21, 2016
  81. rebecca smith July 21, 2016
  82. Carly Belsey July 24, 2016
  83. Amy Dugdale July 25, 2016
  84. leanne weir July 26, 2016
  85. Stevie July 26, 2016
  86. Cassandra Mayers July 26, 2016
  87. Becky Yeomans July 27, 2016
  88. Monica Gilbert July 27, 2016
  89. Jess Powell (Babi a Fi) July 28, 2016
  90. LESLEY BRADLEY July 28, 2016
  91. Leanne V McKenna July 28, 2016
  92. Emma Beckett July 30, 2016
  93. JULIE WARD July 31, 2016
  94. ESME MCCRUBB August 1, 2016
  95. Natasha Mairs August 1, 2016
  96. Andrea Smith August 2, 2016
  97. Jemma Dwyer August 2, 2016
  98. BECCA STAPLES August 2, 2016
  99. Melissa Crowe August 3, 2016
  100. EJ Dunn August 3, 2016
  101. Kate Davies August 4, 2016
  102. ZARA August 4, 2016
  103. Jo Glasspool August 6, 2016
  104. jane August 7, 2016
  105. Keith Hunt August 8, 2016
  106. Lyla August 8, 2016
  107. Vickie Jackson August 8, 2016
  108. My Life As A Mummy August 8, 2016
  109. michelle speight August 9, 2016
  110. Liam Bishop August 9, 2016
  111. Sheri Darby August 9, 2016
  112. jo liddement August 10, 2016
  113. gemma hendry August 10, 2016
  114. Laura Harrison August 11, 2016
  115. Rich Tyler August 12, 2016
  116. danielle jupp August 12, 2016
  117. Matt Froggatt August 12, 2016
  118. Emily Hutchinson August 12, 2016
  119. Tricia Cowell August 12, 2016
  120. steph lovatt August 12, 2016
  121. Jessica Hutton August 12, 2016
  122. Jo McPherson August 13, 2016
  123. katrina adams August 13, 2016
  124. Jayne Kelsall August 13, 2016
  125. Sarah Archibald August 13, 2016
  126. Jane H Shaw August 13, 2016
  127. Stephen Little August 13, 2016
  128. Ian Murray August 13, 2016
  129. David Crabb August 13, 2016
  130. Rebecca Powell August 13, 2016
  131. Jade Hewlett August 13, 2016
  132. Shelley Jessup August 13, 2016
  133. Rachel McMillan August 13, 2016
  134. Eileen Tingle August 13, 2016
  135. Robyn Clarke August 13, 2016
  136. Sam Parkes August 14, 2016
  137. Victoria Thurgood August 14, 2016
  138. Joanna Kasznicki August 14, 2016
  139. Jean Vaughan August 14, 2016
  140. Vickie Jackson August 14, 2016
  141. Michelle Corbett August 14, 2016
  142. Cathy O August 14, 2016
  143. Jenny Prest August 14, 2016
  144. rebecca courtney August 14, 2016
  145. Diana August 14, 2016
  146. Allan Fullarton August 14, 2016
  147. lindsey graty August 14, 2016
  148. lois levy August 14, 2016
  149. Philip Underwood August 14, 2016
  150. chris bull August 14, 2016
  151. Lisa Pond August 14, 2016
  152. Miss Tracy Hanson August 14, 2016
  153. sharon martin August 14, 2016
  154. Dale Dow August 14, 2016
  155. carol boffey August 14, 2016
  156. Jill Fairbank August 14, 2016
  157. Deborah Mackenzie August 14, 2016
  158. Emma August 14, 2016
  159. Barbara Handley August 14, 2016
  160. Meena H August 14, 2016
  161. CristΓ­n Williams August 14, 2016
  162. Jenna Parrington August 14, 2016
  163. Eve Ogden August 14, 2016
  164. Farhana August 14, 2016
  165. Emily downes August 14, 2016
  166. Gemma newton August 14, 2016
  167. Gem Cook August 14, 2016
  168. MRS SHARON BEAMAN August 14, 2016

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Instagram