Give-Aways Reviews

Barbecue Party Review & Giveaway

A few weeks ago we received Barbecue Party, a brand new game from Drumond Park….

BarbecueParty montage - Drumond Park HR

We always enjoy our games here, and as this one is brand new, we were keen to give it a go and share our thoughts on it with you…

Set Up

My tip would be to open this up alone first, or at least not with a toddler about. It doesn’t take long to get it ready, but you will need to stick the eyes on each item, which is fiddly at the best of times, and with a 2 year old desperately trying to play at the same time? Near impossible! Once that bit’s done, it’s incredibly easy to prepare, and a fast one to set up and pack away, too. All pluses in my book. It’s also spring operated, so no batteries required, another plus.

barbecue party

Game Play

You set up your grill and then place the Barbecue Party cards face down. The food all awaits the first player’s turn of a card. The player then needs to pop the corresponding food onto the barbecue, using the tongs whilst ensuring that the grill doesn’t pop up (it’s not on a timer, it pops when it’s pushed on too hard). The cards continue to be turned on each go, and when you get a card that already has that food item on the grill, you can carefully remove the item and place it on your card. The winner is the first person to collect three pieces of food.

barbecue party play

Our Thoughts

This has been played A LOT since it arrived, with both kids loving it, though I’d say Little Man loves it more, being borderline obsessed with it now! It is brilliant for developing his fine motor skills and he really concentrates on using those tongs properly, and placing the food on the barbecue really gently, so as not to make it pop. He has favourite items, and will basically keep turning cards over until he can select the sausage! But this is a game for 4 year olds and up, so at 2, I’m just delighted that he’s so excited by it and I can just see him enjoying it more as he grows. Boo, at 5, totally understands the concept and plays to win. She can follow the rules and plays well with me, as playing with her brother tends to just end in madness as he’s trying to grab sausages repeatedly!

Barbecue Party is very easy and fast to set up, it’s robust and battery-free and the concept is simple whilst being that little bit different and fun. I like games that encourage turn-taking, as I think it’s important to learn that, and both my 2 year old and 5 year old really enjoy it. This is a great game for young children.

Competition Time

I do have 3 Barbecue Party game up for grabs now for 3 of my lucky readers, with an RRP of £19.99 each. To be in with a chance of winning one, use the rafflecopter below. The competition is open to UK residents only, and ends at 12am 31st August 2015.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What do you think of this one?

Disclosure: We received this game FOC for the purposes of this review, though all words and opinions remain my own

151 Comments

  1. Lucy Robinson August 3, 2015
  2. Tracy Nixon August 3, 2015
  3. Anthony Harrington August 3, 2015
  4. Ursula Hunt August 3, 2015
  5. S Edwards August 3, 2015
  6. sam mills August 3, 2015
  7. Allan Wilson August 3, 2015
  8. Mummy's to do list August 3, 2015
  9. Paul Scotland August 3, 2015
  10. Lauren Tourle August 3, 2015
  11. ashleigh allan August 3, 2015
  12. aj August 3, 2015
  13. winnie August 3, 2015
  14. iain maciver August 3, 2015
  15. MARK THOMAS August 3, 2015
  16. ELAINE DALE August 3, 2015
  17. Catherine McAlinden August 3, 2015
  18. Claire Davies August 3, 2015
  19. Susan Lloyd August 3, 2015
  20. Martina Pichova August 3, 2015
  21. Darrell August 3, 2015
  22. Kay Panayi August 3, 2015
  23. Louise Fairweather August 3, 2015
  24. Kirsty Ward August 3, 2015
  25. Claire D August 3, 2015
  26. kim neville August 3, 2015
  27. Janice Mackin August 3, 2015
  28. kayleigh Bates August 3, 2015
  29. kellyanne mitchell August 3, 2015
  30. Kaci Soderstrom August 3, 2015
  31. laura banks August 3, 2015
  32. kelly holden August 3, 2015
  33. Lesley Bradley August 3, 2015
  34. gemma brown August 4, 2015
  35. Lynsey Buchanan August 4, 2015
  36. Ruth Harwood August 4, 2015
  37. Tina Holmes August 4, 2015
  38. Jade Hewlett August 4, 2015
  39. Jessica Powell August 4, 2015
  40. laura stewart August 4, 2015
  41. Paula Readings August 4, 2015
  42. sarah rees August 4, 2015
  43. Laura Nice August 4, 2015
  44. Angela treadway August 4, 2015
  45. stacy sorrell August 4, 2015
  46. Mummy Fever August 4, 2015
  47. Tracy Newton August 4, 2015
  48. Rachel Butterworth August 4, 2015
  49. Laura Pritchard August 4, 2015
  50. Sarah Sims August 5, 2015
  51. Lisa Jones August 5, 2015
  52. claire griffiths August 6, 2015
  53. Natalie Crossan August 6, 2015
  54. Sue McCarthy August 7, 2015
  55. Michaela Hannah August 7, 2015
  56. Jen Schofield August 7, 2015
  57. Chrissie Curtis August 7, 2015
  58. Keri Jones August 7, 2015
  59. Simon G August 7, 2015
  60. PAUL STANLEY August 7, 2015
  61. Angela McDonald August 8, 2015
  62. Harley August 8, 2015
  63. Alice Megan August 8, 2015
  64. claire woods August 8, 2015
  65. Linda McGarrigle August 8, 2015
  66. Chris Aldridge August 9, 2015
  67. Samantha Loughlin August 9, 2015
    • Pam Hubbard August 9, 2015
  68. Carol Carroll August 9, 2015
  69. Kat Lucas August 10, 2015
  70. Lisa Everaert August 10, 2015
  71. Jess Howliston August 10, 2015
  72. Kelly L August 11, 2015
  73. Corinne Peat August 11, 2015
  74. Michelle Phillips August 12, 2015
  75. Hekna August 13, 2015
  76. Lyndsay-Rose August 14, 2015
  77. rebecca nisbet August 14, 2015
  78. Jo Glasspool August 14, 2015
  79. michelle August 15, 2015
  80. aaron reck August 15, 2015
  81. amanda davis August 16, 2015
  82. janine atkin August 16, 2015
  83. DUNCAN BROWN August 16, 2015
  84. justine meyer August 17, 2015
  85. Sarah Lambert August 19, 2015
  86. Stevie August 19, 2015
  87. Jo Ford August 20, 2015
  88. Scott Fallon August 20, 2015
  89. Amanda Walsh August 20, 2015
  90. Julie Ward August 21, 2015
  91. Ana N. August 21, 2015
  92. Colin Gault August 21, 2015
  93. Christina Palmer August 22, 2015
  94. Rebecca Evans August 23, 2015
  95. Shelly Wenn August 24, 2015
  96. Caroline Blaza August 24, 2015
  97. EJ Dunn August 24, 2015
  98. Monica Gilbert August 25, 2015
  99. Lynsey Spraggs August 26, 2015
  100. elaine stokes August 26, 2015
  101. Christine Caple August 26, 2015
  102. Christopher Read August 26, 2015
  103. Clair D August 27, 2015
  104. Michelle August 27, 2015
  105. Sally Collingwood August 28, 2015
  106. MichelleD August 28, 2015
  107. Laura Whittle August 28, 2015
  108. Wendy Guy August 28, 2015
  109. lynn heath August 28, 2015
  110. Nicola August 28, 2015
  111. ellie spider August 29, 2015
  112. Clare Bosanko August 29, 2015
  113. Catriona nation August 29, 2015
  114. Nicola Holland August 29, 2015
  115. Leanne Tobin August 29, 2015
  116. Rebecca Powell August 29, 2015
  117. Lisa Houston August 29, 2015
  118. Angela Walton August 29, 2015
  119. Angela Morgan August 29, 2015
  120. Teresa Sheldon August 29, 2015
  121. Spencer Broadley August 29, 2015
  122. Sheri Darby August 29, 2015
  123. Kirsty John August 29, 2015
  124. Laura Pyper August 29, 2015
  125. CAROL PATRICK August 29, 2015
  126. jules eley August 29, 2015
  127. Caroline Signey August 29, 2015
  128. samantha price August 29, 2015
  129. Eileen Tingle August 29, 2015
  130. Kelly Ellen Hirst August 29, 2015
  131. Irene Gilmour August 29, 2015
  132. claire little August 30, 2015
  133. Julie Edwards August 30, 2015
  134. Sinead N. August 30, 2015
  135. dawn thompson August 30, 2015
  136. Kerry Smith August 30, 2015
  137. Michelle Ferguson August 30, 2015
  138. Emma Fox August 30, 2015
  139. Stephen Little August 30, 2015
  140. LEE HARDY August 30, 2015
  141. Aaron Milne August 30, 2015
  142. Karen Dixon August 30, 2015
  143. Charlotte Moore August 30, 2015
  144. Allan Fullarton August 30, 2015
  145. Annmarie Nutt August 30, 2015
  146. Angela Williams August 30, 2015
  147. betony bennett August 30, 2015
  148. Victoria Prince August 30, 2015

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Instagram